Australian Open champions: Djokovic, Federer and players with most titles

Novak Djokovic (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)
Novak Djokovic (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images) /
2 of 4
Andre Agassi wins the Australian Open
Andre Agassi (Mandatory Credit: Clive Brunskill /Allsport) /

3: Andre Agassi – 4 titles

One place ahead of Wilander with four Australian Open titles is the American great Andre Agassi.

Agassi won the tournament in Melbourne when he played the event for the first time in 1995 and followed that up with successes in 2000, 2001 and 2003.

His last three victories came in the space of four years and the missing year in that sequence, 2002, saw him have to withdraw from the tournament with a wrist injury, pulling out shortly before that event began.

Agassi won on all of his four appearances in the final, his first success coming in four sets in a blockbuster clash against Pete Sampras.

It was five years until he repeated the trick, with another four-set win, this time against Russian Yevgeny Kafelnikov, getting him over the line as top seed.

Agassi became a back-to-back champion with an emphatic straight sets victory over France’s Arnaud Clement in the 2001 final.

He then bounced back from missing the 2002 tournament with an even more one-sided final win over Germany’s Rainer Schuttler.

The 2003 Australian Open title proved to be his last of eight Grand Slam titles overall. Indeed, the last three he won in Melbourne were his only majors after the turn of the millennium.

Defeats to Marat Safin (SF) and Roger Federer (QF) in the next two years ended up being his last appearances at the tournament.

At that point, Agassi sat top of the Australian Open list, but he has since been passed twice.