Australian Open champions: Djokovic, Federer and players with most titles

Novak Djokovic (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)
Novak Djokovic (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images) /
3 of 4
Roger Federer wins the Australian Open
Roger Federer (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images) /

2: Roger Federer – 6 titles

Roger Federer’s Australian Open record is second only to his success at Wimbledon, a tournament he is synonymous with.

A six-time champion and seven-time finalist, Federer’s record in Australia since his first victory in 2004 is remarkable.

That first Melbourne success was his second Grand Slam overall and was sealed with a straight sets win over Marat Safin in the final.

Safin got his revenge with an epic semifinal win in 2005, only for Federer to go on and win the next two Melbourne tournaments, recovering from a set down to beat Marcos Baghdatis the next year and comfortably accounting for Fernando Gonzalez in 2007.

Federer News. Roger not seeking 'perfect' retirement. light

The arrival of Novak Djokovic as a Grand Slam force interrupted that run, the Serbian beating him in the 2008 semifinals, a year before Rafael Nadal won a five-set thriller over Federer in the final, which remains the Swiss star’s only defeat in a Melbourne showpiece (6-1), as well as the Spaniard’s sole success.

Federer was back on top in Australia in 2010 with a straight sets win over Andy Murray, who would go on to lose further finals against Djokovic, though that fourth title for the Swiss star was followed by a six-year dry spell, which included five semifinal exits.

But he was not to be denied. Seven years after his previous victory, Federer lifted the 2017 trophy when he emerged triumphant from another five-set battle with Nadal and another final that went the distance against Marin Cilic the following year gave him an emotional sixth Australian Open crown and 20th Grand Slam overall.